Rajnath Singh row: What are cupboard committees there for?


A vital technical, administrative device – the cupboard committee – in information, thanks to the Narendra Modi authorities’ choice to study the unique composition of 8 cabinet committees inside hours. On Thursday, the rules constituted eight cupboard committees. Defence Minister Rajnath Singh – technically the No.2 in pecking order inside the rules for having taken oath after Prime Minister Narendra Modi – changed into a part of the handiest of the cabinet committees. Rajnath turned into now in six of the eight cabinet committees. Amit Shah turned into in all eight. Then something passed off – but what isn’t always in a public area – and a revised list becomes released inside hours.

But what are cupboard committees?

Cabinet committees are more constitutional bodies. But they derive their legality from the Constitution. In constitutional parlance, a central authority is known as an executive, consisting of the President of India. Article 77(three) of the Constitution says, “The President shall make regulations for the greater handy transaction of the business of the Government of India, and the allocation among Ministers of the stated commercial enterprise.” In simple language, the top minister-led Union cupboard can constitute committees of cabinet drawing members from various ministries. Besides permanent contributors, there can be some special invitees to those cabinet committees.

This is finished by the Government of India Transaction of Business Rules, 1961. The cupboard committees ensure clean functioning among departments or ministries of the authorities. The churches, at times, are seen retaining contrasting views on coverage topics or their implementation. Cabinet committees help iron out the variations by preparing a commonplace ground. Cabinet committees work as enterprises, which can be instrumental in reducing the workload of the Union cabinet.

Rajnath Singh

The eight cabinet committees

Appointments Committee of the Cabinet: Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah. Cabinet Committee on Accommodation: Amit Shah and Union ministers Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman, and Piyush Goyal. Union ministers Jitendra Singh and Hardeep Puri are unique invitees. Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs: PM Modi, Union ministers Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Gadkari, DV Sadananda Gowda, Nirmala Sitharaman, Narendra Singh Tomar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, Piyush Goyal, Dharmendra Pradhan

Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs: Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nirmala Sitharaman, Ramvilas Paswan, Tomar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Thawar Chand Gehlot, Prakash Javadekar, and Prahlad Joshi are permanent members, while Arjun Ram Meghwal and V Muraleedharan are unique invitees. Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs: PM Modi, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Gadkari, Sitharaman, Paswan, Tomar, Prasad, Badal, Harsh Vardhan, Goyal, Joshi, and Arvind Sawant.

Cabinet Committee on Security: PM Modi, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Sitharaman, and Jaishankar. Cabinet Committee on Investment and Growth: A new committee comprising PM Modi, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Gadkari, Sitharaman, and Goyal. Cabinet Committee on Employment and Skill Development: Some other new committees on which PM Modi, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Sitharaman, Tomar, Goyal, Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’, Pradhan, Mahendra Nath Pandey, Santosh Kumar Gangwar, and Puri are the permanent participants. Gadkari, Badal, Smriti Irani, and Patel are special invitees to the cabinet committee on employment and skill improvement.